Search: Browse by Category:
Automatic removal of deleted files from the Backup Express Server
 
Print
Views: 3065
Votes: 0

 

When you delete files from your computer, they are not automatically deleted from the Backup Express server. This is to allow you to recover files that have accidentally been deleted.

If you want Backup Express to automatically remove deleted files from the server, proceed as follows. N.B. Files are not deleted immediately with this function. They will still remain on the server until the end of your restore window.

  1. Open Backup Express
  2. Go to the 'Device' tab, then select the 'Backup Express' or 'xSP' device linked to the Backup Express server and choose 'Properties'.
  3. In the 'Advanced' tab verify that the box labelled 'Send deleted file lists to the Backup Server' is ticked.
  4. Click 'OK' and then close Backup Express.

This behaviour is enabled by default for all Backup Express installations downloaded from the 1st May 2007.  Older installations have this behaviour disabled by default.

Using this option you can choose whether deleted files should be cleaned up from the server or left there permanently.

 

 

Last update: 05:08 PM Friday, November 6, 2009

Related Questions: